christmas

About 5 or 6 times every year I try to convince myself to get into learning how to become a better cook and all the inspiration basically fails after reading deliriously simple looking cook books and blogs, making 1 fantastic looking item and coming up as a total disappointment. My family to this day still jokes about how I over salted the uncle ben’s rice I made when I was 7.

So for christmas, it is no surprise I wasn’t asked to contribute anything to the feast. My brother on the other hand, started working at Joey’s this year and since the fam hasn’t visited him at the restaurant to see his full fledged work, he brought the food to us.

I wish I could remember the exact names. The first is a salad (not the viva) that usually comes with grilled chicken breast. The second is mashed potato spring rolls deep fried and covered in bacon bits, cheese & sour cream. These were delish!

Oh, and not to forget my dad’s roast:

To top off a great meal, my brother made my favourite Joey’s menu item: Apple pie.

For christmas I asked him for the recipes — no sign of it yet. If I were him, I’d want to keep it all to myself too.

Leave a comment